Image

A new wave of music has been slowly taking control of the music scene. You hear it in comercials, movies, and all over the web. Young DJs are developing their own mixes at home everyday and posting them online on varies websites like soundcloud.com and reverbnation.com. I remember when you thought DJ or Disk Jocky, you thought of the guy or girl who brought their old vinels and scratch board equipment to clubs to mix up some hip hop hits. Now I believe the word DJ has be revolutionized into something much larger. Instead of all the giant disks and the scatch board, you have a laptop and all sorts of electronic equipment. It’s gone purely digital! Most of today’s modern DJs are also producers, creating and producing their own music and effects.

Joel Thomas Zimmerman, aka deadmau5 has had a large part in this musical revolution. He began his career during the 1990s, following the influences of chiptune and demoscene. In 2005 Zimmerman released Project 56, a mixed tape consisting of 56 demos. Since he has released 14 albums, these include Get Scraped, Vexillology, Full Circle, At Play, For Lack of a Better Name, and most recently Meowingtons Hax Tour Trax. He has also been nominated and won a multitude of awards including Best Electro House Artist, Best Remix, Best Dance Recording, Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical.

Deadmau5 has headlined many shows, including the Dance Arena at the Oxegen Festival in Ireland in 2009, LovEvolution in San Francisco, California, and many more. He has worked along side artists such as Skrillex, Kaskade, MC Flipside, Rob Swire of Pendulum, Bighorse, and Steve Duda. He is well known for performing in the giant mouse head costume, which comes in several colors and designs. Interestingly Zimmerman created the mask when learning to use a 3D program. Fans call the mask “Mau5head”.

Joel Zimmerman doesn’t perfer to be called DJ, as he expressed in the Irish Daily Star, in which he expresses his indifference with the traditional DJ and what he does. This statement caused many people to take offense. However he later appologized and better explained his opinion, one I can completely agree with…

“Let me start by admitting … I did not grow up in the EDM scene. I don’t consider my career to be about “being a DJ”. I don’t have “DJ roots”. I never had any intention of becoming a DJ, and my conception of “DJ’s” in general from this standpoint has always been being forced into some nightclub when I would have rather stayed home, and watch some dude mash the “play/stop” button and occasionally move a pitch slider. Love it or hate it … that’s just been my conception of the traditional “DJ”. Mind you, I’m not a total fucking idiot, and I recognize talent when I see it … and there are many talented DJ’s out there for sure. In my eyes, those would be the individuals who utilize technology to deliver the music in ways that are both skillful and innovate, more-so than my vision of the “play/stop/pitch” DJ. To me, the club is about “the party”; the people make the night; the DJ obviously needs to use that to his advantage, it’s give and take.” (Trainspottr.com)

Needless to say, Zimmerman, among other producers are not actually the DJs that take other people’s music and play them, they take their own material, mix it, and turn it into catchy dance music.

